Delta State University

Delta State University logo

Delta State University is a public institution providing a comprehensive undergraduate and graduate curriculum to approximately 3,500 students representing all of the states and 50 different countries. Dozens of degree programs on the undergraduate level provide educational opportunities in the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, and Education and in the Robert E. Smith School of Nursing. Graduate programs on the master’s, educational specialist, and doctoral levels provide advanced training in a broad range of disciplines.

Acknowledging its beginning as a teacher’s college, the University sustains excellence in teacher education while continuing to expand offerings in traditional as well as unique programs of study. From the core disciplines such as arts, humanities, and sciences, to unique programs such as Commercial Aviation, the Delta Music Institute, and the nationally-recognized Geospatial Information Technology program, the University is committed to meeting the evolving needs of the students it serves.

Community Colleges

Bolivar County is supported by two community college institutions, Mississippi Delta Community College and Coahoma Community College. Both community colleges serve students from Bolivar County and offer their resources locally throughout the county to students and employers with workforce development training.

Secondary Education

There are three consolidated school districts in Bolivar County, with programs that are considered to be some of the strongest and most progressive among public school systems in the region. One such example is

Cleveland Central School District
The largest public school district in Bolivar County is Cleveland Central School District with almost 3,000 students. There are two PreK-6 magnet schools, four elementary schools and one middle school, high school and career development and technology center. The Cleveland School District serves the communities of Cleveland, Boyle, Renova and Merigold.

Hayes Cooper Center for Math, Science and Technology, a PreK-6th grades magnet school in Merigold that is a break-the-mold, state-of-the-art school with an accelerated academic program and consistently ranked as a top 10 elementary school in the state of Mississippi.

Bell Academy is a second PreK-6th grades magnet school in the Cleveland Central School District located in Boyle. Bell Academy focuses on Math, Science and Health Education.

North Bolivar Consolidated School District
The North Bolivar Consolidated School District serves the communities of Mound Bayou, Shelby, Alligator, Duncan and Winstonville. The school district has two elementary schools located in Mound Bayou and Duncan K- 6th grade and one high school for 7 - 12th grades in Shelby.

West Bolivar Consolidated School District
The West Bolivar Consolidated School District serves the communities of Shaw, Pace, Rosedale, Gunninson, Benoit, and Beulah. The school district has McEvans school in Shaw for K - 12th grades and one elementary, high school and vocational center in Rosedale. 

Presbyterian Day School
Presbyterian Day School was founded upon the desire for a superior education in a Christian atmosphere. The school provides educational opportunities from K2 -6th grades.

Bayou Academy
An independent school, Bayou Academy provides educational opportunities from K3 - 12th grades. Bayou Academy strives to provide each child with an excellent education in an environment that promotes rigorous academic challenges, Christian values, and student engaged instructions.

Early Childhood Development Centers